Orthodox clergy

The three major orders of Orthodox clergy are the bishops, priests, and deacons. The two minor orders are the subdeacons and readers. Deacons, subdeacons, and readers assist the priest during religious services. Both the spiritual life and the administration of the churches are governed by the principle of shared responsibility between the clergy and the laity, or nonclergy. The laity often take part in the administration of their church and in the election of their clergy.

Members of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church during Eucharistic Liturgy in their church in the Holy Sepulchre, Jerusalem.

thus does not indicate a real difference of belief. According to this conciliatory interpretation of the ancient doctrinal conflict, all Orthodox churches hold that Christ is both God and man.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment