Divine office

The houses where monks or nuns live are called abbeys, and they are ruled over by abbots (spiritual fathers) or abbesses. The life of devotion in abbeys is organized around the Divine Office. This consists of the Book of Psalms, readings from the Old and New Testaments, readings from the early church fathers, and hymns. This prayer book was structured so that all 150 psalms of the Old Testament were sung each week, with each day divided into eight parts. Every three hours a part of this Divine Office is chanted.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment