Ordination rites

The ordination rites in their present form date from around the fourteenth century, and provide for the ordination of reader, subdeacon, deacon, presbyter, hegoumenos (abbot), archdeacon and bishop. There is a special form for the consecration of the patriarch. There are some echoes of the forms found in Apostolic Constitutions, and the Syrian Orthodox rites. The rite for presbyters has a rubric outlining their qualities, and candidates are vested in deacon's attire with orarium (stole) over the arm. Prayers and formulae require a turning to the west, to the altar and to the east. The rites include signing the candidate with three crosses on the forehead. There is also an admonition to the candidate.

Angel Ascendancy

Angel Ascendancy

Be Prepared To See Massive Changes In Your Destiny Guided By The Archangels. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Guide To Communicate With Archangels For Life.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment