Seven Sacraments

The Catholic and Orthodox churches celebrate seven sacraments - rites that constitute a visible sign of the inward grace of God. The sacraments on this 15th-century altarpiece are ordination, confirmation, Eucharist, penance, anointing the sick, baptism, and marriage. Many Protestant churches recognize only two sacraments: baptism and Communion.

Gold trimmings add to the splendour of the outfit

Anglican vicar wearing everyday clothes s

Anglican vicar dressed for Holy Communion

Saint Ignatius of Loyola

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment