The Zodiac

The zodiac is a belt of stars extending 8° on each side of the imaginary circle called the ecliptic. The zodiac is therefore 16° wide, and, being a complete circle, is 360° in circumference. It is divided into twelve equal parts of 30°, each denoting the particular place which the sun occupies during each of the twelve months of the year. Each of these divisions of the zodiac, in the visible heavens, is marked and occupied by a separate and distinct group or cluster of stars, called a constellation. These constellations are named after certain "living creatures," supposed to have been originally emblematic of the month in which the sun entered them.

The twelve constellations are called—

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Art Of Astrology

The Art Of Astrology

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success With Astrology. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To A Look at Principles and Practices.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment